MidState Medical Center's Critical Care Unit Awarded Silver-level Beacon Award by American Association of Critical Care Nurses

February 18, 2013

MidState Medical Center is pleased to announce that its Critical Care Unit has been awarded the silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). MidState's unit is only one of two in the entire state of Connecticut to have earned this recognition.

The Beacon Award for Excellence - a significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and a healthy work environment - recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with the AACN's six standards. Units that achieve this three-year, three-level award meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

To earn this prestigious distinction, MidState's Critical Care Unit met the following evidenced-based criteria in:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development, Best Practices
  • Evidenced-Based Practice and Process
  • Patient Outcomes

"The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as a role model to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care," said AACN President Kathryn E. Roberts, RN, MSN, CNS, CCRN, CCNS.

MidState will be recognized with an announcement in AACN Bold Voices, the monthly award-winning member magazine distributed to more than 90,000 acute and critical care nurses nationwide.

Press Contact